Dance Central Spotlight Song List: Not Just 10 Deep

Share on Facebook1Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Reddit0Share on Google+1Digg thisShare on StumbleUpon0

When the Dance Central Spotlight release date rolls around on Sept. 2, there’s bound to be some confusion. And no, it won’t be of the “do I skip the first day of school to play the game?” variety. Instead, it’ll be around the number of tracks included on the Dance Central Spotlight song list at launch.

Out of the box, so to speak, the Dance Central Spotlight song list is only 10 deep. By any standard, particularly a next-gen one, that paltry number could inspire mass hysteria. But here’s the thing: those 10 songs aren’t literally the only tracks you’ll have access to for the game. Instead, Harmonix is banking of Xbox One owners being willing to pay for downloadable tracks.

There are two sides to the coin. On one side is the fact that gamers always have favorite tracks, so why not give us the opportunity to only nab the ones we want. After all, Dance Central Spotlight has a seriously discounted price (just $9.99), so by the time we download a bunch of paid songs, the price will likely still end up the same or lower than a normal $60 game.

On the other side of that proverbial coin is the “don’t micro-transact us to death” argument, which is perfectly valid in its own right. Let us know which side of the coin you’re on in the comments below.

In the meantime, we’ve presented below the Dance Central Spotlight song list as it will exist upon the game’s Sept. 2 release date. The 10 tracks included with the core $9.99 download are:

  1. Avicii – “Wake Me Up”
  2. Cher Lloyd – “I Wish”
  3. David Guetta ft. Sia “Titanium”
  4. Jason Derulo ft. 2 Chainz – “Talk Dirty”
  5. Kid Ink ft. Chris Brown – “Show Me”
  6. Lorde – “Royals”
  7. OneRepublic – “Counting Stars”
  8. Pharrell Williams – “Happy”
  9. Rihanna – “Diamonds”
  10. ft. Justin Bieber – “#thatPOWER”

But again, Dance Central Spotlight doesn’t just have those 10 songs. In addition to those 10 tracks, players can customize their soundtrack with more than 50 hits available in the game’s Music Store on release day. Harmonix has plans to release more songs as time goes on.

Additionally, once they’re released for Xbox One and at no extra charge, add-on content already purchased for previous versions of Dance Central on Xbox 360 are compatible with Dance Central Spotlight.

Harmonix has confirmed the following songs will be available for download on Sept. 2:

  • Capital Cities – “Safe and Sound”
  • Emeli Sandé – “Next To Me”
  • Icona Pop ft. Charli XCX – “I Love It”
  • Lana Del Rey – “Summertime Sadness (Cedric Gervais Remix)”
  • The B-52’s – “Love Shack’d”

Harmonix will undoubtedly announce more of the tracks included on the launch-day Dance Central Spotlight song list. As they do, we’ll share them here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *