• Mon. Feb 26th, 2024

Daily Game

Video Game News and Reviews, Sports, 3D Blu-ray and Electronics

2014 Call of Duty Championship: Only Xbox Owners Qualify


Jan 9, 2014
Call of Duty: Ghosts Screenshot

Just after gamers have spent their entire spring break playing Call of Duty (right?), Activision will hold its second annual Call of Duty Championship. Presented by Xbox, the tournament will play host to 32 of the best Call of Duty teams from around the world. Their primary goal probably won’t be the right to the Call of Duty “World Champions” title, although that’ll be neat. Instead, it’ll be their desire to claim the lion’s share of the tournament’s $1 million prize.

Because the Championship is presented by Xbox, it appears that only owners of an Xbox 360 or Xbox One are eligible for the finals. Gamers who own a PS4 or PS3 do not appear to be eligible. Per Activision’s press release: “Qualifying for the Call of Duty Championship, presented by Xbox will be handled through online tournaments played on the Xbox 360 games and entertainment system from Microsoft, and broadcasted on MLG.tv….”

The 2014 Call of Duty Championship will be held March 28-30 in Los Angeles. It will also serve as the first official competitive Call of Duty event played on Xbox One in which prize money will be awarded. Programming covering the weekend’s excitement and matches will be streamed live via Xbox Live and on MLG.tv.

The Call of Duty Championship is open to all qualified players, whether professional gamers or not, as long as they meet the requirements. Further details about the 2014 Call of Duty Championship rules and regulations, as well as the Call of Duty: Ghosts maps and modes for the tournament, are available here.

Call of Duty teams from six continents covering North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia and Australia will contend for their place at the Call of Duty Championship in a range of qualifying events. Select live regional finals will take place in late February through early March in Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States. The live regional finals will be played on Xbox One and will also be broadcast live on MLG.tv and other broadcast partners.

By Sara

My name is Sara Anslee, I live in Colorado. I am very fond of gaming, writing, and blogging. I share the latest news and tips about sports games, video games, gaming movies, gaming devices, and accessories. I also love watching movies and traveling.